Member Login

Caddie Program


Treat Your Caddie as you Would Your Son or Daughter!

This old adage is written on every scorecard because Beverly focuses heavily on training young caddies to become good people in society and prepares them for the potential opportunity of receiving the most coveted scholarship in the golf community.

The Beverly Country Club has an incredible and storied history of working closely with the Western Golf Association and Evans Scholars Foundation to present the ESF with deserving caddies as they generously gift yearly undergraduate scholarships. The Evans Scholars Foundation has made a significant mark at The Beverly Country Club.

Beverly proudly boasts the largest number of Evans Scholars recipients in America. Its members would like to thank all the caddies who have displayed such tireless dedication and hard work over the years, making our program as fine as any in the United States.

The caddie program at The Beverly Country Club continues to grow under the new leadership of Brian Kribs. The Members are grateful for his leadership and stewardship.

Undergraduate Scholarships for Deserving Caddies

The ESF is a charitable trust which provides undergraduate scholarships for deserving caddies, a concept originated by Charles "Chick" Evans Jr. and known as the Evans Scholars Program. The Western Golf Association has sponsored the program since the first two Evans Scholars enrolled at Northwestern University in the fall of 1930. More than 11,550 caddies, both men and women, have graduated from college as Evans Scholars Alumni.

Evans, who learned the game as a caddie at Edgewater Golf Club in Chicago, gained worldwide fame in 1916 when he became the first golfer ever to win both the U.S. Amateur and U.S. Open championships in the same year. Evans also won the 1910 Western Open at The Beverly Country Club. Because Evans insisted on preserving his amateur status, he directed that any money he received from golf be put toward caddie scholarships. The Chick Evans Caddie Scholarship is a full tuition and housing scholarship, renewable for four years. Evans Scholars attend one of the 22 leading universities across the country. The 22 universities are as follows: University of Chicago, University of Colorado, University of Illinois, University of Illinois Chicago, Indiana University, University of Kansas, Marquette University, University of Maryland, Miami University, University of Michigan, Michigan State University, University of Minnesota, University of Missouri, Northwestern University, University of Notre Dame, Ohio State University, University of Oregon, Penn State University, Purdue University, Rutgers University, University of Washington and University of Wisconsin.

Evans Scholarship Website